Funk Noir HQ

Twisted tomes from the dome of Adam Rudegeair

Lake Minnetonka

Posted by on Mar 23, 2014

Lake Minnetonka

Lake Minnetonka: a six-piece juggernaut — super-tight funk on the bottom, and wild punk jazz on top. For fans of New Wave, No Wave, Mutant Disco, and acolytes of the High Purple Court…

Based in Melbourne Australia, Lake Minnetonka features bandleader and composer Adam Rudegeair on keytar, David Gooey (Jude Perl) on guitar, Ann Metry (Sol Nation) on bass, Nick Karasavvidis (Florelie Escaño) on drums and the killer horns of Jon Hunt (Shaolin Afronauts, Transatlantics, Ross McHenry Future Ensemble) and ‘AJ’ Jackson (Jake Savona). In addition to their own original robofunk tunes, Lake Minnetonka love to get down on classic Minneapolis joints from back in the day by the likes of Maserati, The Family, and Morris Day and the Time.

Formed in mid 2013, the band hit the stage strong and constant, with their first gig at the legendary Purple Emerald, a local haven for funk and acid jazz bands. Having gained a swiftly growing loyal following on the strength of these live shows, they holed up in the recording studio, smashing out five tunes in one marathon session. Check it out on Soundcloud.

Toward the end of 2014, Lake Minnetonka will record their debut full-length album, so watch the skies, it’s coming…


Adam Rudegeair – Keytar
David Gooey – Guitar
Jon Hunt – Bari Sax
Andrew Jackson – Tenor Sax
Ann Metry – Bass
Nick Karasavvidis – Drums